I have an amp that on the lead channel has a pre and post gain controls. I feel like a total noob asking this but, how do i use these? I think that pre gain is like a gain control and post gain is like a volume control? Is this right, or am i completely wrong?
Quote by GBMan
It's about as loud as a pidgeon being crushed by a chair.

Guitars:
Ibanez GRG170DX
Fender Stratocustic
Austin Flametop Deluxe
Regal Acoustic

Amps:
Vox AD50VT
Peavey Rage 158
hell if i know, my amp has those switches too i just turn mine all the way up. i like the way it sounds
Pre-gain is distortion/overdrive control, and post gain is basically volume. Pre-gain controls the pre-amp distortion, and vice versa for post-gain. I think.
"Love your country always, but respect your government only when it deserves it."
-Mark Twain

batman rocks
^ i don't think you understand how to use vice versa.
the pre gain controls the input gain (ie. overdrive/distortion) the post gain controls the ouptut volume (ie. master volume)
Quote by Jeffthecedar
Pre-gain is distortion/overdrive control, and post gain is basically volume. Pre-gain controls the pre-amp distortion, and vice versa for post-gain. I think.

yea usually theyre on tube amps. the pre-gain just controls how much you drive the preamp tubes. since the preamp tubes don't affect the volume of an amp this is why you can get that real cruchy distorted sound. before they made the preamp circuit (several decades ago), the only way to get a distorted overdriven sound was to drive the POWER-amp tubes. but in this case, power amp tubes increase the power(go figure) hence the volume goes up. now since the preamp and post amp are on separate cicruits you can control both. the post-gain will still contribute some distortion when u get to a high volume like they have always done in the past (this is assuming you're using a tube and not some solid state amp that theyve taped those labels on.)
Yea well im using one of the supposed "TransTube" line of peavey amps.