Alrighty...

When I began to learn guitar at Christmas, the first thing I wanted to do was learn some Metallica riffs. After weeks of continuous practice, callous building, and a rather sore wrist, I made it to where I could nail my favorite guitar parts. I learned as much as I could of whole songs. Intro solos I could always handle, but those pesky speedy 'main solos' prevent me. Anyways...the problem.

I recently began to learn some theory, and learned the major and minor pentatonic scales, along with a blues scale (different than the minor pentatonic). I wanted to advance, but I kept hitting blocks. Since I'm self taught, and I still havn't found a lesson that explains to me in a friendly way, I abandoned it. Should I leave theory learning until I'm more proficient with the guitar?

Also, playing Metallica riffs are great fun, but after awhile you want to be able to play those kickass solo's Metallica is known for. Since this is only my 5th month playing, should I really be attempting this? I know there is no rule saying that you have to and can only start soloing at 'x' amount of time playing, but most everybody doesn't seem to learn to play solos until almost after a year or so of playing. Some intro solos like the ones on Fade to Black, One, Sanitarium I can do, but the big ones are somewhat harder...so should I just stick with what I know, and keep practicing until I'm more experienced? Or should I just go for it?

Sorry if this kinda long and deviates from the point, but I'd like some input. Thanks.
Well, you just have to practice, and learn to count time. Im guessing you already can, so you should go out and buy a book, consiously play the song with the time, and then speed it up every day. And just go for it, but with easier songs. And never ever leave theory in the dust. Soon, youll be able to play. And remeber that one pesky word. "Practice"