Hi guys,

I bought an S470 2 weeks ago, its my first guitar.

I'm playing some metal and I was considering buying the S520EX at first, but after reading some post around here, a lot of ppl said S520EX was a waste of money cause the S470 could handle it well with its HSH pu, you could just use the 2 humbuckers on it, and bingo you got pratically an S520.

but here is what I found on Ibnz web site:

this is the possible set up for the HSH, as you can see I cant use both humbuckers at the same time, or the 3 PU at the same time, I really find it sad.

I'm new to guitar so I just wonder, why is this done like that? why cant I use both my humbuckers or the 3 ones?

and if it's logical (I guess and hope it is) what is the best set up for metal playing, using only the bridge one?

thx for helping =)
Last edited by Locrian at May 4, 2006,
You'll get a lot of extra noise if you use all the pickups at once. This is generally how the pickups are set to work:

The bridge pickup is meant for rhythm.
The middle pickup is meant for clean sounding playing/acoustic modeling.
The neck pickup is meant for soloing.

If you wanted different combinations of you pickups, you can go in and rewire it all. And if you are unconfident of your wiring skills, take it in somewhere. But you don't normally need different combinations of pickups than it comes set w/.
- FJ

Quote by Landover Baptist Church
If you find [balloons in his bedroom], it is a sign that Satan may have taken your child by the hand and skipped off together to see the movie, Up without your knowledge.

look... just get emgs. they give you a great sound. you will probly have to get your guitar cut, but they are the better choice for metal, unless you want dimebuckers.
Great job answering his question... Now go away, n00b.