Alright, I'm a pretty good bass player for being self-taught, but I have some questions. I'm about to start looking for a band that needs a bassist. Here are some questions that I'd like answered.

1. If I'm lucky enough to get an audition, what should I do to prepare?, that is, other than, "Practice, practice, practice, and, did I mention? PRACTICE!!!"

2. If I wind up gigging, how often should I change my strings? I know that old strings have a WAY different sound compared to new ones. If I get in a band where I basically have to have old strings for the songs that they play, then is there any way to get that old string sound sooner with new strings, but not sacrifice the quality of the strings? If I get in a band that I need the new string sound, how often should I change them?

3. Can anyone recommend a few really good warm-up excercises?

4. If they want me to use their equipment, how can I possibly part with my wonderful, beautiful, perfect bass long enough to play another one on stage? I wouldn't get rid of it, but, I wouldn't take a $5000 bass guitar to play every day instead of my own. I love it. Just like I play the guitars that I like, and somebody could offer me a $10,000 dollar guitar for free, and I'd still play my good old mexi-strat if I didn't like the one that they offered me. And unless I have to use their amp to get the right sound or volume, I'd die before I'd part with my bass amp. It's an older Peavey Minx tube amp, and the sound is to die for. Plus, it'll rattle half the windows on the second floor of our house being played on the first floor, set on 5!!!
I'd be very unhappy if I had to part with either of them, even if it were just to play on stage...
5. If I have to play something like, say, this:

---5-------
------5----

Then, how do I do it? Do I rock my finger to the other string, or use the next finger?