i'm ambidextrious and for me it normally breaks down that i do small motor skills with my right hand (writing, eating, masterbation, etc.) and large motor skills with my left (sports, driving, intense masterbation).

today one of my friends mentioned to me that maybe i am supposed to be a left because of the major things that i do on a daily basis most are done with my left and except writing and guitar.

i've been playing for a yearish righty mostly because that was what the first guitar that my mom bought me for chirstmas was. i have yet to try lefty at all.

just now i was playing around with my fingers and noticed that my right hand fingers move much much more independantly than my left. then i remembered what my friend said and i thought maybe. then i tried playing (fliping my guitar over) and noticed that even though my right hand played like an absolute beginner playing on a backwards guitar my legato seemed to show more potential then that of my current playings potential or ability.

so i am wondering could i be a lefty guitarist?
is it worth switching?
how do i find out if i am lefty? like is there some sort of skills test i can do for myself?

if i am i am totally gonna get me one of those micheal angelo batio guitars
dude thats awesome. id give my right arm to be ambidextrious
Last edited by mullet0023 at May 5, 2006,
learn to play both ways, and play one of those piamp double guitars micheal angelo batio plays (like u said)

muahah
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser (Black Cherry)
Peavey 6505 Plus Head: 120W all-tube goodness
Peavey 6505 4x12 Slant Cab
Tacoma Somethin-or-other Acoustic (i bought it used)
Listen here. I have the exact same thing. I write, throw, and do things more accurately with my right hand. But for power i go left handed. E.g knife cutting, playing snooker.