Hi All,

I'm a total noob trying to teach myself how to play. I picked up an Epiphone SG Special a while back am wondering if I should upgrade the pickups. I like to listen to the popular alternative/rock/emo stuff out now (Taking Back Sunday, Hawthorne Heights, Thursday, The Audition, The Academy Is, etc.), so I think I'll be trying to pick up a lot of their songs first.

I know it's a cheap guitar. I think I paid somewhere around $180 two or three years ago. Is it worth upgrading the pickups or would I be better off buying a new guitar?

Thanks!
personally i think a new guitar is of the most importance, plus the better guitars come with better pickups in most cases
How long have you been trying? If you're just starting now I wouldn't worry about it.

As for pickups for those kinds of music, a Seymore duncan JB would probably do in the bridge, most people put a SD 59 in the neck when they have a JB. But you should check out www.seymourduncan.com and take a look at what they have.
if you're a 'total noob' then i'd probably suggest honing (sp?) your skills before you start upgrading your equipment. there wouldn't be much point in having such expensive gear if you can't handle it properly
Those guitars are plywood I think...buy a new one.
I'm not very active here on UG currently.
I'm a retired Supermod off to the greener pastures of the real world.
i wouldnt upgrade that model. ( i think it is plywood.^)

i mean sure u can pull those humbuckers back out and into ur next guitar. but maybe its time to just upgrade the whole thing.

new pickups dont give u the insane output boost u might think.
they are more about fine tuning a guitars tone.

amps and pedals are more noticable when upgraded. so again look at the amp ur using, then guitar and effects. before u pump $200 into a pup change.
Jenneh

Quote by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.