Hi, I'm new. I was browsing and this seems like a nice place, so I've got a question: I just started playing literally three days ago and was wondering if there was a certain way to place your fingers on the fret board to play the notes. I figured I'd ask this now so I learn it correctly, ridding the risk of me having to learn over again - kind of like typing.

Oh, and is this a good guitar package to just start on?
http://www.zzounds.com/item--EPILPSPIIPPEB

Thanks,
Bill
generally you want with the very tips of your fingers to press down the strings. at the beginning it won't work and it will sound horrible, but then it will slowly start working (and hurting less).

whatever works for you is good though.

it looks fine for a beginninr package...maybe even better than what most people start off with.
when you're playing through a scale and not doubling up on strings (that is you're only playing one string at a time) and with a lot of chords wherever you're not barring strings (that is, once again, only using one finger for a single string) it's gonna help a lot to put you're fingers pretty much perpendicular to the fretboard. other than that, make sure to hit the strings with the fleshy part of your finger tips, a lot of it is just practicing and playing a bit to figure out what works.
Whatever is easiest and feels most comfortable.

But don't forget to use your pinky too.
Populus vult decipi. Decipiatur.

Quote by Mistress_Ibanez
It's can be a contraction and genitive case.

Quote by Mistress_Ibanez
If you cut down on these costs students won't learn so well, effecting the "quality"...
NOT whatever's easiest and most comfortable! You'll regret it when you realise you'll have to relearn things to play smoother and faster.

As a general rule, try to stick to the one finger per fret rule, press doen not too hard a little bit behind the fret.
Yeah, what *seems* easiest at first is generally not the best way. It may take some