Hi,

im not technical, so im kinda afraid to take off my guitars pickguard.

anyway, i own a pretty cheap strat, with all singe coil pickups, and want to enchance it's sound.

and this idea came to my head... what if i buy a pickguard with a humbucker hole in it, take the connections of my bridge pickup, and replace it with a new humbucker, that would fit in its new pickguard bridge pickup place?

would that at all be possible, so i could keep the 5 way switch as it is, and everything else too?

so basicly, would it be possible to just take the connections of a single coil pickup, and connect them to a humbuker, so it would work?

thank you!
Sell it and buy a fat strat. Even if you buy a pickguard that will accomodate a humbucker, you've still got to cut a hole into the wood under it.
some guitars are already routed for a humbucker....check under your pickguard, its the only way
My Gear-

Guitars
- Schecter Gryphon
- Ibanez GRX40

Amp/Effects

- Crate FXT65 With DSP
- Dunlop Cry Baby Classic

My Choice
- DR 9's
- Dunlop 2mm
Most strats in fact are routed for a bridge humbucker... but if yours isn't and you don't fancy doing the routing then there are plenty of single coil sized humbuckers

stacked humbucker maybe? they're sexy.
For these things give thanks at nightfall:The day gone, a guttered torch,A sword tested, the troth of a maid,Ice crossed, ale drunk.-The Hávamál
ok so if it has the humbucker hole for it, all i ave to do is take the wires off the single coil, and solder to the humbucker?
Quote by 4e574e57363g
Hi,

im not technical, so im kinda afraid to take off my guitars pickguard.

anyway, i own a pretty cheap strat, with all singe coil pickups, and want to enchance it's sound.

and this idea came to my head... what if i buy a pickguard with a humbucker hole in it, take the connections of my bridge pickup, and replace it with a new humbucker, that would fit in its new pickguard bridge pickup place?