hey i was wondering, would it be possible/practical to have a moving pickup?

this the crappiest picture on earth, but i put it together in record time :P

and either way, has this been done before?

i would just like the idea of it because you could change your tone, and anchor your thumb (im a bassist btw, this would be on a bass if done) at any position between the fretboard and bridge.
Hm, I guess that coudl be possible, like mount tehm on a ball bearing slider or soemthing?

I dont' see any serious problem with it, as long as you can find a decent pup that sounds good in all positions.
Cool idea, and quite easy. Instead of just screw holes for the pickup to mount in, make a long cut through the plastic, and then cut out the center of the plastic too, so you can slide the whole thing around.
I'm not very active here on UG currently.
I'm a retired Supermod off to the greener pastures of the real world.
It is a good idea indeed. Post pics if you do go ahead with it.
Quote by TiMaRmStRoNg101
there was once this girl
in my school
and she was like
'greenday is so punk'

and i was all
omgelitist
'fawkofffffffffff'
and punched her in the face.
cause i can do that
cause I know more about punk rock and stuff
you gotta find some way to lock the pickup in place though so it doesnt slide around

otherwise, pretty nifty idea. use a Jazz Pickup or a Humbucker
Cort lover of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join.
On cheating in a relationship...

Quote by metaldud536
If he doesn't use a gameshark, it's not cheating.

I'm a non-regular regular old user.
i dont have the money for this project right now :P and besides my parents wouldnt let me now anyway cuz they need me to help with their kitchen reno.

if i do decide to go ahead with it, no doubt ill post it up here.
also, the pickups would either need a large amount of wire, or be connected up to say (a) metal rod(s) that runs along that is connected to the pots etc
Cort lover of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join.