Hey... I've been playing the guitar for about 5 years, and I recently decided it was time to get a guitar that would last me for a long time. The thing is, I've never owned an expensive guitar, so what kind of setup do I want to get the best sound possible?

Im probably going to get http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Guitar/Electric?sku=517844

So I guess my real question is... What kind of amp should I get and is there anything else that would make any difference in sound.

Thanks in advance
Well that depends on what kind of stuff you want to play (you won't get a Fender if you're trying to play death metal...) and how loud you want to play it.

What kind of amp? a tube amp

as for the Gibson, well if you like the feel and sound of Gibsons then go for it, that finish is sweet. In that kind of pricerange be sure to play the guitar before you buy it because you're going to hate yourself if you drop $2500 on something that you find less than amazing.
Last edited by seljer at May 8, 2006,
depends on what you want to play, but the amp makes up most of your tone so i suggest getting that 1st

pedals, pick ups, strings and even picks make a difference in sound but is all preference
~We Rock Out With Our Cocks Out!: UG Naked Club.~
Post a naked picture of yourself with your guitar to join.

Quote by gunther_sucks
Hey you look kind of like me.

Except for the sexy man goatee, and kickass shades. And sweet guitar.

I'm jealous.
Im into the 'classic rock' sound.. Things like Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, ect.

Whats the difference between a tube amp and a regular amp(sound wise)?

Right now I use 9 gauge Ernie Ball Hybird Slinkys, I just bought em one day and I've stuck with them ever since, any recommendations on strings would be cool

How do different picks affect the sound?

Thanks again
Quote by wongacaster