Hey Everyone

I've been playing guitar for 7 years now. I truly love it with all my heart and soul and i've gotten very good in that time period.

But now i've gotten it into my head to take up bass as a way to...

a)Give me an even better sense for rhythm
b)Give me something new to work on
c)Increase demand for me as a mucisian (i'm a way better then most guitarists but there's still faaaaar too many of them out there)
d)Learn a new instrument, which is never a bad thing
e)Because bass is f*cking awesome

I already listen to large amount of music that has an emphasis on bass. Lot's of funk, that sort of thing. One of my favourite musicians is Victor Wooten (bows reverently).

There's only one problem.... i have no idea where to start.

I know one or two things about bass but no-where near enough to be confident about making purchases etc.

Here's my questions...
-Are there any finger exercises i can do with or without my guitar that could help me get ready to handle a bass. (I use really thick strings for my guitar so my callus is already a lot thicker then most guitarists, but still not base-worthy yet)
-Which companies should i be looking at to try to find a good quality 4-string bass that has great bang for it's buck. How about bass amps?
-Could i get ANY form of helpful information that would allow me to avoid any common mistakes.

And in case your wondering, i would be playing Blues and Funk mostly. Possibly with some Classic Rock and the occasional Jazz. Also note that i'm not going to be giving up guitar.

ALL help is appreciated. Thanks very much for putting up with me.

Cheers
-Falcatarius
Last edited by Falcatarius at May 8, 2006,
7 Years of Guitar, and you don't know what bass to buy?

And it is spelt Bass, not Base.
---------------
VOX AD30VT
BOSS GT8

Want to build a Jackson, to be fairly freaking honest.

Quote by Kanthras
Put some crap in the hole, like something sticky. And liquid-ish.
deviantART: Click Here