Ok. I've been playing for almost three years now, and I'm an average player. I don't suck, but I'm no visionary. I don't really learn new songs a lot anymore, I just sit there and screw around. I feel like I'm stuck in a rut. My guitar teacher shows me scales and stuff, but what else can I work on so that I improve as both a player and a riff-writer?
Member #7 of the "...Still Waiting for the Zombie Holocaust" club. PM Smokey Amp to join.

Nothing from nowhere, I'm no one at all
Radiate, recognize one silent call
As we all form one dark flame...
Incinerate!
learn to play songs that are almost too difficult for you to play, then once you master it youve obviously improved. going from not physically capable of playing a song to having it mastered means you progressed thats what im doing right now. first i was like ok master of puppets sounds pretty hard ( ive only been playing for like 1.5 years) so i learned the whole thing ( sans solo) at 85% speed, then increased it gradually, now i can play through it sitting down, now my next step is to be able to play it standing up ( kinda hard for me idk why) then finally im gonna learn the solo
MY GEAR :
2000 Jackson SL-3 Soloist
Roland Cube 60
Boss Metal Zone
Dunlop 535q Wah
Shitty DS-1 (AKA Teh Pap3rWeIgHt)

Quote by Nole07
i have like 30 bucks to spend. and i wanna know from first hand experience does it make pp's huge? thanks
Sounds good. Oh, and is learning the solo in Stairway to Heaven really all it's cracked up to be? I mean, I learned the first two licks last night but I wonder if I should keep going.
Member #7 of the "...Still Waiting for the Zombie Holocaust" club. PM Smokey Amp to join.

Incinerate!
Do you learn full songs or just licks and solos?

There's nothing gonna' frustrate you more than only being able to play licks. Yeah learn something challenging and more importantly learn something you like. There's nothing like finally being able to nail a good tune.
Quote by jimtaka