I am wondering how you get the tone and sound of bands like killswitch engaged and atreyu, songs in drop c. I am playing an EXP EC1000 with the EMB 81 and 60 combo, and a Crate GLX30. Do i need an over drive pedel or some such?

thanks for any advice, and please be a constructive critic if thats what you have to offer, im a newbie.

-K
Quote by thejackel16
I am wondering how you get the tone and sound of bands like killswitch engaged and atreyu, songs in drop c. I am playing an EXP EC1000 with the EMB 81 and 60 combo, and a Crate GLX30. Do i need an over drive pedel or some such?

thanks for any advice, and please be a constructive critic if thats what you have to offer, im a newbie.

-K

You're not going to get any kind of tone out of a Crate.

Unless your idea of tone involves plugging in to Helen Keller.

That's pretty much what Crates sound like.

You'd have to get a much better amp: at the very least, something like a Roland Cube 30, but it'd be far better to have something like a Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier or another (borderline ridiculous) high-gain tube amp.
Well, my best suggestion would be to get a better amp. I dispise SS Crate combo amps. Your guitar is worthy of so much better of an amp. If you have a decent amp with a decent distortion, you won't need any pedals.

BTW, overdrive pedals are best suited for tube amps. They overdrive the amp. Distortion is what you're thinking of. I reccomend a Boss MT-2 Metal Zone. Absolutely nasty pedal with the proper settings (I can supply a few that have been good to me), but you can tweak it to get even a mild overdrive for blues and classic rock.
Founder of UGPSA: Ultimate-Guitar's Pot Smokers Association. PM me to join.
Quote by Slash_HuDsOn
ak guitarist doesn't dress in the morning. he kills throughout the day and attires himself appropriately

I would recommend an amps swap, something like the VOX Valvetronix series or maybe a MESA.
Guitars
Agile 3100 CSB
ESP MH400 w/ Trem-Setter
Epi G-310
Applause Acoustic