So I've had a beginner Fender-Strat forever and it's constantly out of tune and I barely play it anymore. I've been really letting loose on my acoustic Seagull but I really want to get a new electric.

I'm really trying to find one with awesome pick-ups and a clean tone that can be distorted well when necessary. I've been playing only for about 4 years and have been teaching myself, but I think the genre I tend to lean towards is blues rock... though I like to play around with funk, jazz and punk too.

My price range is anywhere between $400-about $700. If anyone has any advice I'd love it. I realize that there's a ton of threads like these, but I could really use some advice since I'm not all that knowledgable about the wide array of guitars available. Thanks a lot!

UPDATE: See Post #14
Last edited by GeetarsAreRock at May 22, 2006,
it really depends on what kind of pickups you want. do you want humbuckers, single coils or the happy medium p90s?
Tunes, gear and other random stuff can be found in my "UG" profile if you click my name
lp100.everythng u need. look at the epiphone.or the gibsn.if in ur price range(i live in uk )
Main quips
Marshall MG100DFX
Squier Affinity
Digitech RP200A
Givson acoustic copy

elo ther.
I never recommend a particular brand because its such a personal decision.
You really need to make it on your own. For the most part don't pay much
attention to what anyone says because you may totally hate what someone
else likes.

You should just go to one of the online stores, search for guitars in the $400-$700
range, and pick one YOU like. They'll all do pretty much the same thing and
you'll get a decent guitar in just about anything in that range.
I don't know much about pickups but it sounds like single coils are the most versatile. However, I'd still like to get a decent growling sound out of the guitar every once in a while. Should I just leave that part to a pedal? Or am I way off base?