Evening chaps, well after changing my mind a few times i finally decided on the Ibanez RG321MH after i tried it out in the shop.

Its a great guitar, has a good solid feel to it and is quite weighty which i like.

I also bought myself a Roland Cube-30 Amp which is equally good, some good effects and Amp models on there which im currently experimenting with.

Regarding the pickups on the RG321MH, ive heard loads of people on the site mention that they are pants and the guitar would be miles better if they were swapped with some others.

Unfortunately with me being a beginner i fail to see whats so bad about them, i havent had the experience of trying other guitars with better pickups on - what would i gain by swapping them out for better ones? Would the sound be clearer, deeper bass etc

Thanks

AdamC
depending on which pickups you go for:

they'll sound clearer- it'll pick up the notes more clearly and be less muddy.

you can get pickups that aren't as "hot"- they'll have better cleans, but not as heavy distortion.

or you can get pickups that are "hotter"- more distortion, and probably not as good cleans (although they'll probably have better cleans than your stock pickups).

they won't sound so sterile.

Great beginner setup, by the way.

I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?