I've been working on them for over a month and i cant do barre chords. The note on the 2nd string never rings and I can't seem to be able to fix it. I've been playing guitar for only 2 months just so you know. Am i doomed to never be able to do bar chords because I haven't improved in the slightest bit in over month. Im frustrated as fuck.
No, you're not doomed..lol..barre chords take a while to master. Just keep practicing...also, if you can, try rolling your index finger back a little bit, so you're using a little bit of the side of yoru finger. that helped me
My Gear:
Agile AL-3000 Prestige
Custom Made Electric
Oscar Shmidt OE-30 w/ Bigsby
Ibanez V70cent Electric Acoustic
Carlo Robelli CW4110 Acoustic

Mesa/Boogie F-50 Combo
Boss DD-3
Boss PH-3
2 months is nothing. I can Barre pretty well and my first doesn't really ring all the time. Just hang in there. You grip will build and it wll get cleaner.
Quote by Fallon, Jones & Sage Francis

"By the way my name is Marcus. But if you like you can call me Sensei."

American Idol - or as I call it, the Gong Show Rip-Off

According to #Yeezuz, Kanye West is a god. As if I needed more reasons to be an atheist.
barre chords are hard for most guitarists just keep practicing them and you will get better with them. They take a while to get used to and i still have the same problem you do sometimes. And take the advice everyone else is giving you.
Don't worry about doing barre chords, worry about strengthening your fingers.

When your fingers are strong enough, you can do them.

I used to be completely unable to bridge more than 2 strings, but now I can barre 5, 6 with extra effort.
Believe it or not, it's very little about finger strength and very much about
accuracy and leverage.

First of all, realize that you don't necessarily need to have the pressure go
across all strings. Only those that are actually played by the barre. So the
pressure points can be directed.