I've been playing guitar for around 6 years so I do have a basic idea of how things play.. I want to get a bass just to mess around on, would also hopefully make my right hand much stronger and improve my fingerstyle skills which I can transfer to acoustic etc.. also I think itd improve my timing and "groove" on guitar Anyway.. I dont know wether I should just go for a 5 string, so theres the versatility. Seem to be a bit rarer though, so not as easy to find on ebay etc. What do you think? Also, need recomendations for a good cheap practise amp, I've been recommended a roland bass cube..

Cheers!
I'd just stick to a 4 string dude. A standard Fender Pbass is good. when looking for one on ebay make sure it doesn't say squire. lol. Make sure it's a Fender Pbass. Costs around $350 new. look into some ibanez bass' also. Fender rumble 25 is a good bass amp for the fact that you are playing at home mainly or wherever, and won't be playing a bass with drums. It's 25 watts. On bass amps i'd stay away from any 15 watts. but 25 watts is good.
Ibanez SR400
Ampeg BA112
Digitech Whammy WH-4 > Boss NS2 Noise Gate, NS2 Send (Boss GEB7 Bass EQ) NS2 Return > Boss CEB3 Bass Chorus > Ampeg BA112
Quote by tomslespaul
I've been playing guitar for around 6 years so I do have a basic idea of how things play.. I want to get a bass just to mess around on, would also hopefully make my right hand much stronger and improve my fingerstyle skills which I can transfer to acoustic etc.. also I think itd improve my timing and "groove" on guitar Anyway.. I dont know wether I should just go for a 5 string, so theres the versatility. Seem to be a bit rarer though, so not as easy to find on ebay etc. What do you think? Also, need recomendations for a good cheap practise amp, I've been recommended a roland bass cube..

Cheers!