I know nothing about guitars and was looking for some thoughts on the best bet for $300 give or take. I would be playing just for fun (would probably start out with metallica) and am looking for the cheapest, respectable guitar that would cover me for a few years into the intermediate stage.

Im going to guitar world later today to look around, but so far might be leaning towards an ibenez but also saw a bc rich mockingbird (evil edge) that looked decent.

This forum looks great and I will be spending a lot of time here (I was referred by some guys at mma.tv)

thx
Well if you can find one for that price tryan Epiphone Les Paul (Look on Ebay). If You cant find one try a Squier stratocaster, they have them in deals with an for under 300 USD
I'm guessing you don't have an amp then... you will need one
Ibanez RG321MH - (PAF Joe / FRED)
Vox AC30
I started playing guitar at 15 and my first guitar was the Squier Strat. I know there are better guitars out there but this guitar has provided me with everything I've wanted from a beginners guitar. It's affordable and sounds pretty good.

I bought the Squier Strat Pack which came with a practice amp, 6 picks, a strap, a cable, a tuner and a "Fender Method" book. It got me started pretty well. The practice amp packed a pretty decent wallop in my oppinion.

And then I grabbed a Digitech RP-50 and modified some distortion effects and so far it's been my guitar for three years now. I'm 17 now and I'm looking into a new guitar because I'd like to step up from the practice guitar. And yes I'm looking at an Ibanez.

My only gripes about the Squier are these.

1. The High-E tuning knob went a little wack after a while and feels a little loose but once you get it tuned right and stuff it stays pretty good.

2. The stupid input jack for the cord loosens easily and after so many times of plugging in my guitar I have to tighten it back up.