my guitar teacher said to learn a song thats long, and break it into parts and just practice them everyday but just not to learn a complicated song. I was thinking of learning stairway to heaven, and i was just wondering of maybe thats a good idea. I've only been playing for a short while and i just want to see if it's a good idea to learn this song. Thanks.

P.S i know how ridiculously retarded this sounds but im new to guitar, and i dont really know too much about learning new songs and such.
"If my wings should fail me, Lord, please meet me with another pair."
-Led Zeppelin

Quote by Duff_McGee
Everyone knows that the day the Metallica ends, the world ends.
Go to the home page for ultimate guitar and search it in the tabs section. And yeah, its probably a good idea to learn the song. If you have the patience, you can just listen to it and figure out what you should play on your own (Without yabs)
ya i started learning that song the day i got my guitar, lol.....but seriously ya its a good song to learn.....i can play most and ive been playing guitar around 3 months
that song is the ultimate guitar song i think if you can get through that whole song you can no longer be called noob hahaha but yeah this song is great to learn awesome chord practice i've been playin for 6months and i know all of it sept the solo im to scared of learnin it i dont think im worthy haha
Cmstar90: i have too lisen to a song for hours just to figure out of one part it sound and how to move my fingers tso that it sounds that way
Cmstar90: when u seem to figure it out in seconds
That was the first song that I learned, other than the smoke on the water and seven nation army riffs. I love it, but I don't recommend that you play it around other people very much. Everyone seems to hate it and think that it's way too overplayed and overrated. Damn stairway to heaven haters.
No stairway *points to sign* LOL
Quote by uterus
so he can purify his air, asshole.

My Rig:
Customized Squire Strat