ok, this is my first build of any instrument, but as far as building, and woodworking, i'm fairly experinced, and i have a workshop with every tool at my disposal.

what i've decided to build is a randy rhoads V bass, i've never seen one, and love the shape of them but i play bass, so i've decided to build my own.

for parts i've chosen gotoh tuners (black) and a schaller roller bridge (black) with two emg select humbuckers. all from stewmac.com , i would have invested more in pickups, but money ran short, and i also bought a carvin BN4 bass neck with un-cut head stock. all minor parts such as pots, knobs, finishes, and such will be bought local.

i'll be purchasing the black wood for the body sometime this week, and would like to know what kind i should choose, given the pick-up choice i've made, and for the genre i play (metal, rock, anything heavy, but i'm still open minded to playng anything)

and i'll have drawings and shecmatics up soon, along with pictures when all my parts arrive.

also, i've chosen 100% black for all parts the neck and the body, i want it to have a nice gloss to it, but i'm sick and tired of colored instuments, i just want a simple black one.

and one more idea i have, is i'm going to have the back-plate of the neck engraved.
hell is only a word. reality is much, much worse...
sounds cool keep us posted
Member of the Metal Militia. PM Gibson_10 or AngelOfSorrow to join
i just spent about an hour on paint, doing this, i suck at paint, but thats the rough idea. any input would be apreciated.

there i changed it to a .GIF and its larger now. lost some color though.
Last edited by PatriotVirus at May 23, 2006,
Quote by kaplac
Um, there's no picture, can you re-upload it?

i can see it just fine.
i'd slap in a 3 band active EQ for all your metal bass tone needs.