As an aspiring bassist, I'm constantly working to improve my playing skills. Also, as someone who is never satisfied with myself, I'm constantly looking for new things to learn technique-wise. My goal is to not just be a bassist, but a musician. What are qualities that you would like the bassist in your band to have?

For example: one thing that I believe is important is versatility. If you're the best heavy metal bassist in your tri-state area, whatever. If you can slap better than Flea himself, I don't care. If can play every one of Jaco Pastorious's songs, it doesn't matter. Then again, the last one would be impressive.

The best players are the ones that understand their instrument and music enough to sit a gig and play funk, followed by rock, followed by R&B, followed by metal, ect., ect.

This thread would be a great reference for us bassists, thanks.
i play a lot of standard tuning songs, such as red hot chili peppers, cream, eric clapton, iron maiden....... the usual stuff. but i also drop d and play FFAF, bullet, my own bands stuff, and other heavy things. then i drop c to play killswitch engage and so on........

my point is, variation is the key to improving. if u just stick to one area of music (such as heavy metal), then u will eventually saturate all the techniques from it. but if u play a few songs from other areas, then u can learn new stuff and shizzle.

so yeah.......... bassists should have be versitile enough to do a three fingered gallop, slap bass, tapping......... but those techniques can only be learned quickly if u have a liberal music taste, rather than a conservative "new bands suck, im only gonna play old rock, coz its soooooooo much better" (nothing wrong with old stuff, don't get me wrong).
www.myspace.com/nopeepingcommatom

Quote by Braindoctor
Dont ask for buttsecks straight away , wait about 3 minutes then WHAM stick it in her butt.

This guy knows his stuff!