Hi there, i wonder if any of you guys can help me.

I've been playing guitar for a few years now, but my technique has not improved at all. I wonder if you can help me improve my technique, so that i can shred just like all my heroes!!! I can play alot of good songs, master of puppets etc, but none of them sound quite like the real version. Help Please!!!
best advice is to practice...but u know that

2nd best advice is to look at the same old damn thing different. stand on your head and play. just don't ALWAYS do the same thing. and remeber to just mess around some times. dont always have a goal try making an open shaped "C" chord around the 6th fret, and picking thru it. now add a finger. change a note. make the top a power chord and leave the bottom the same.

learn the notes on the fretboard (where else ;P) so you can jump around the neck and stay in the same key. like find every single G.

if kirk hammet does 12-14-15-12-15. just do that about a million times til you are sick of it. learn a completly different song then go back to it.
Now maybe u'll see that section a little different.

Biggest way I improve my technique. (and i've played guitar for less time then you have) is to do somthing to death, do a 180 degree or a 245 turn. play somthing unrelated and then clear your mind and just mess around with the original idea again.

and now for another complete 180. make sure u try everything. don't limit yourself. learn somthing u hate doing. like "add9" chords. then try and take what u learned there and put it back into the powerchords, or scales.

when u open up UG's mainpage there is a section on the right for featured tabs. nwo usually this is some song or band i've never heard of. and i open the tabs and play it.
i have no idea how it is supposed to sound and just a vague idea of the timing. but it gives me a new way to look at guitar.