I know your supposed to let your preamp warm up for 5 mins, atleast but
after you switch to power, should you turn your preamp (warmup) switch to off or just leave it on while you play?
leave it on im not sure about the ins and out of a tube amp cause im new to them aswel.
Equipment:

Schecter 007 BlackJack
schecter c7 hellraiser
ibanez k7
Krank Revolution one stack
Tech 21 Trademark 30
Digitech Whammy Pedal
tech 21 killer wail
pre-amp switch?

what are you talking about?

most tube amps have a power and stand by. to turn a tube amp on, it goes like this.

both power, and stand-by are off. turn the power on and let the amp warm up for about a minute or so. then turn the stand-by on.
Quote by ClassicAxe

consider anything derek suggests, He IS a gain VVhore you know
Quote by jj1565
derek, will you go out wt me?

President Gain Whore -group on profile
ya by preamp i ment standby and i thought your supposed to turn standby on first to let the preamps warm up? am i wrong? and then when you switch to power do you leave the standby on or off?
I thought it was:

1) Make sure the standby switch is on
2) Turn the power on
3) Leave for a few mins
4) Turn off the standby
- Gibson Les Paul Studio
- Squier Standard Strat
- Roland Cube 60
- Visual Sound Jekyll & Hyde
- Boss OD-3
- Behringer EQ700
Let's say before you turn the amp on, both switches are in the off position. You turn the power amp on first. Let it warm up. Then you turn the standby switch on. Now, if you didn't hear sound when the standby switch was off, why would you turn it on and then turn it off again and still expect to hear sound? But honestly: It's 2 switches with two settings: A total of 4 possibilities. If you can't figure out power switching for yourself, you're an idiot.
Hi, I'm Peter
THe thing that always gets me is on many amps, when you switch the standby on your actually turning the amp on. Marshalls and Mesa's i've played the standby has to be to the off position to actually be in standby.