If you noticed the "Dreadnought vs. Garett" thread that was up for a while .. this is the same song that I competed against Jon with.

Anyway this recording is quite different. The song is exactly the same but the recording was done over completely from scratch because I'm putting out an album this summer. The drums were performed by a guy named Aaron Apter and all the guitars and bass parts were performed by myself.

The original recording was done with zero focus on quality or performance .. it was just done for me, to write the song. This one will be put out on the album which is in the mixing phase now... and I'm a pretty big newbie when it comes to audio engineering so some input on my mixing would be very much appreciated.

http://www.spencley.com/mp3/carissas_lullaby.mp3

If you want me to listen to one of your tunes in return (crit for crit etc.) I'd be happy to. Just link me and I'll take a listen when I have a chance.

Edit: oh since this is what's going out to be mastered .. be harsh .. be really really really harsh.
As a whole, I REALLY enjoyed this track. I have just a few small criticisms of things that stood out to me... First of all, the bass drum needs to be turned up a little bit or the bass guitar down a little bit, the bass guitar over powers the bass drum. In the beginning of the song, the cymbal "hits" sound really, and I mean REALLY bad. They sound out of place and the cymbal tones do not compliment the guitar part very well. The rolls on the other hand sound very good. Try not to have him use the brushes on the crashes or use double sided sticks (mallets on the back end) to do rolls.

Other than those little things, I loved this track and I would be interested to hear much more of your work.
Well im no pro with mixing, but i heard this track before, and thought it was excellent. Now, with everything in it, it just sounds better.