Greetings Everyone

So recently i've gotten it into my head to get my hands on another guitar. So far the only guitar i own (aside from my ancient and old yahama pacifica) is an SRV signature strat that i've been using for a while now and truly enjoyed.

However, i believe it's time i employed a humbucker tone in my array of sound. And here's what i had in mind...

-I love the feel of SG's. I believe it's far superior to any other humbucker-oriented models so i am definitly looking for an SG body and neck.
-However, i would be getting some form of Epiphone SG and i LOATHE the pickups with any of their SG models. I was thinking of upgrading to Gibson Classic '57 Humbuckers.
-I also prefer a thicker gauge of string, probably not SRV strat thick, but as thick as is reasonable.

But, i have no experience whatsoever in fiddling around with anything but a strat, so i have a few questions for those experienced with SG's and humbuckers...

-Are there any major diffrences of any form between the cheaper Epiphone SG Special, and the pricier Epiphone G-400 SG? (Aside from the obvious cosmetic diffrence)

-Would Gibson Classic '57's be a good way to go? I play primarily blues, with a bit of a southern/texas orientation occasionally. It's just i played them in a "Lynyrd Skynyrd" LP recently and i just loved their sound, i don't know how they'd play in an SG. Any other pickups to consider would be cool.

-Is it a wise idea to upgrade the string gauge for the type of setup i'm proposing? If i did how would i adjust the bridge or truss rod at all to compensate for the thicker strings?(never owned an SG so i don't know how) I was thinking 11's or possibly 12's, and i use Ernie Ball Slinky's.