Ok so im not a begginer but (and this sounds very odd since ive been playing for about 3 years) i never learned tapping. I also learned harmonics but don't think im doing it right.

If anyone could help me understand how to tap that would be great; harmonics would be helpful as well

-sam
Last edited by sam453 at May 30, 2006,
Tapping is exactly what it sounds like. You tap a note on the fretboard with you fingers. Usually tapping means right-hand tapping. This is basically a hammer-on with your right hand (well, not the whole hand, but a finger(s) ).
A good exercise is this, the first part of the solo from Metallica's "One":

T - Tap
P - Pull of

T    P
e|-19-15-12-| x8

T    P
e|-20-15-12-| x8

T    P
b|-19-15-12-| x8

T    P
b|-19-15-12-| x8

T    P
b|-15-13-10-| x8

T    P
b|-16-13-10-| x8

To begin with, your tapping won't make much sound, as the tapping is usually done fast, since your right-hand finger-tips are still a bit soft, they'll somewhat mute the strings. But start a speed you're comfortable with (then increase) and your fingers will gradually thoughen/strengthen) up.
Electrics:ˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑAmps:
Jackson DKMGFFˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑˑRandall RG100SC G2
Washburn DIME 333ˑˑˑˑˑˑˑRandall RH200X / RA412 2x Half-Stacks
ESP LTD EC-1000 STCB
Dean From Hell CFH
Last edited by SinnaSatan at May 30, 2006,
Learn the tapping part 2 eruption its super easy and great for tappin, as far as learing, ive always found figurin it out 4 urself works best.
oh kewl thanks

I thought thats what it was; I saw Eddie doing it during Eruption (the video), but wasnt quite sure if i was doing it right
I second this topic. I've have been playing the guitar for a year. I think i get the jiff of tapping as you use your pick hand to tap the notes just like a hammer on? (probably wrong). Can someone explain about harmonics because I hear people talking about it all the time?
?
One Love

“One good thing about music, when it hits- you feel no pain” -Bob Marley
Quote by musicmyrock