Ok, so Im auditioning for this band Sunday. I'm basically garunteed in, according to their singer and guitar player. They're a local metal band with a lot of talent. The only thing is, they keep their stuff relatively simple and somewhat nu-metalish. I've been playing guitar for about 9 years now, so Im hoping I can bring a new element to the guitar playing in the band and make the music a bit...well not to sound rude, but better. I was just wondering what kind of stuff you guys would reccomend adding to this style. Thanks a lot for any help. And please no flaming. Here's the band
thrash metal use that style to try to turn them into a thrash esque band if thats what u want. just try to make it a more less poser band. ha.
This is what you get.
This is what you get.
This what you get when you mess with us.
Hmm, well if the band is just a whole lot of chords and what not, become a strictly lead player. Throwing whacky harmonies over top of chords in lead line form can do some awesome stuff to a bad (such as Coheed and Cambria, which totally aren't metal, I know (waits to be eaten)) Of course shredding solos and stuff are great too... which I'm assuming you can do since you've been playing for 9 years
Yea, they said they're definitely looking for some good shred solos. And I'm thinking of maybe pushing their other guitarist (who's only been playin 2 years) to use some more unusual chords rather than just the standard power chords. Some stacked 5ths and diminished stuff.
Dont a gay ass shredder.

Try to balance the songs. Good riffing is the way to go, most guitarist just follow there dick and try to solo or powerchord everything.

So yeah push the other guitarist he will only profit from it but keep it fun for yourself to.

Tell the drummer to get a double bass, Tell the clean singer to shut up once or twice in a song, really she is annoying and growling + opera is not good, a good grind voice sounds good with that opera sound.