I've been playing electric guitar for about 6 months now and i really want to buy an effects pedal...I was looking at the Boss pedals because I've heard they're really good. But one thing is...i dont know which effect to get. My band does a lot of cover songs from the white stripes. i know they use compression and some type of distortion for songs like Ball and Biscuit. I want to be able to have that same sound as Jack. So i was wondering what pedals...

And how the hell do the pedals work?? lol that sounds like such a dumb question but i just know that when you want to use it..you push the pedal down. But I'm not sure if you need anything else for it...does it plug into the amp?? I seriously have no clue AT ALL!

pLeAsE hELp!!

rocker-chik
To use a pedal you just push down on it with your foot and that basically turns it on then push down again to turn it off. Justl ike an on/off switch. If the pedals off you'll just get your amp sound whatever that may be set to then when you put it on you'll get your amp sound with whatever effect you maybe using over the top. You can also link as many effect pedals as you want in a big chain.
thanks...well i understand that part...it's just a lil fuzzy on how they work.. like is there something more i have to buy for them to work?? is there another cable? do i have to plug it into the amp??