is it any safer/unsafer running a 4 or 8 ohm cabinet of an amp. Was going to build 2x12 rated 8ohm but speakers were 250bucks each. Can get two for 199 each of ebay but there 8ohm each. so it would have to be a 4ohm rating. dont have a socket for 16ohm so thats out of the question.
well if ur cab can get 16 ohms put into it, then ur OK running 4,8 or 16 ohms outta ur amp my MG puts out 8 ohms, and i have it hooked up to my behringer cab which accepts 16mom, and it works. Just make sure its not the otehr way around i.e. amp puts out 16 can takes in 8, thats a nono
What? Learn some basic punctuation and grammer please. Unsafer isn't actually a word, for the record. I don't believe that it is safer or "unsafer" for either. I'm running 8ohms, but it depends on what kind of speakers your head is going to be played through.

Hey guys! I just started playing electric guitar should I get a Gabson Lay Pall or a Femdor Startokaster. I like the picks on the gabsons but i like how sweet femdors look. Beforre i get a gabson what company makes them?
Depends on the rating of the amp. If it's 4ohm, then you need to use a 4ohm speaker, or 2 8ohm speakers in parallel. If it's 8ohm, the combined resistance also has to be 8ohms. So you could put 2 4ohms in series, or an 8ohm alone, or 2 sets of 2 8ohm speakers in parallel, the sets being in series.
Posers are like punks, except they do it for fashion

notUG PUNK FORUM PRESIDENT!
actually, even if you miss match impedances, they'll generally be tolerant by a factor of 2.

It's "safe" to run a 2, 4, or 8 ohm cab on a 4 ohm amp, safe for a 4, 8 or 16 ohm cab on a 8 ohm amp, and 8, 16, 32 ohm cab on a 16 ohm amp.

Although, if you don't match impedances, you won't have maximum power transfer.