hhmmm let's see
i'm a guitarist, and i want a bass
i listen to megadeth, children of bodom and british heavy metal like black sabbath and iron maiden
I'd prefer a 5 stringer with a wicked shape , and good tone too
any ideas? I'm not a bass expert
ibanez GAXB is short scale, if it helps, so is the fender/squier bronco bass or whatever.
Fender Jazz Basses have beautiful tone and a nice shape.

when looking at basses it's better to stay for a standard shape, much easier to play and more reliable(not getting in the way)
Price range?
Quote by Pinky&The Brain

Brain
Are you pondering what I'm pondering pinky?

Pinky
I think so, Brain, but where would we buy rubber pants at this hour?
Quote by seek_&_destroy
hhmmm let's see
i'm a guitarist, and i want a bass
i listen to megadeth, children of bodom and british heavy metal like black sabbath and iron maiden
I'd prefer a 5 stringer with a wicked shape , and good tone too
any ideas? I'm not a bass expert

A, 'wicked' shape? IMO all 'metal' shaped basses tend to look just tacky and cheap. Under no circumstances should you buy a bass pureply on looks.. though that's pretty obvious anyway... however, good 5 stringers you're probably looking at an Ibanex SR505 or the BTB 5 stirng, assuming there both in your price range of course.
Gear

Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Fender MIA Precision
Musicman Bongo
Boss TU-2
EBS TD650
EBS ProLine 2x10 x 2
you say short scale, is that gonna affect the range of playability? i understand that it would be easier, but i don't want to compromise quality. price range, about $500-600 can, the thing is i don't know about the shape though, cuz i'm willing to adapt if it is hard to play or "gets in the way", oh and if it means anything, my influences on the bass are cliff burton, david ellefson and the guy from RHCP
Don't get a jazz. If my memory serves correctly, David Ellefson, Geezer Butler and Steve Harris all use P-basses. Not sure about the COB bassist. Go with a P-bass if you're going to get a fender.