***NOTICE: I am only starting to get into playing/writing music (just bought my first acoustic guitar this past December, and my first electric guitar 2 weeks ago), but I do want to seriously explore my potential in music writing, composing, etc. This is one of the songs I've written for a band called "The Kings of Fake"

http://www.myspace.com/kingsoffake

We're currently in the process of composing these songs, and will hopefully have some of these tracks uploaded in the coming months. This is my first attempts at songwriting, but I would appreciate your honest opinions on my writing.

LET THE BRUTALITY COMMENCE! haha.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

"Slow Shutter Speed"
Written by Jeremiah Tayao
Last Revised on 06/03/06

Crunching the gravel beneath my toes
Leaving that life behind me
Leaving that life behind me
Erase the pain from my crippled soul
Don't you dare come closer
I deserve to be alone

Slow shutter speed
This night air has become so visually stimulating
Streak baby streak
I'm getting weak from breathing
Suffocated by this evening

Waste away in this rotten hole
Comfortable in this silence
Your tearful cries are like sirens
Escape into the black unknown
My pockets empty out beneath me
There's nothing left inside for me to hold

Slow shutter speed
Streak baby streak

This path I walk
Illuminates
The city street lights evacuate
The calming sound of rushing waves
It drowns the noise of this sleeping wake
And as this foolish heart concedes
Another foolish heart will bleed
Red on the carpet entrance
Red on the carpet entrance

Slow shutter speed
Streak baby streak
If it helps, I sort of envision this song to have a bit of a Red Hot Chili Peppers feel. The more mellow sound to their brand of music anyway.
nice, some of the lyrics are fairly cliche though, like "Comfortable in this silence", i've heard varieties of that line a million times, but you managed to make it flow greatly.
8.5/10.