Being a guitar teacher I notice a lot of my student's lower to mid price electric guitars do not stay in tune very well even if they do not have a whammy and the student is not doing any bends. I notice this in many name brands including the Gibson Epiphones and Fender Squire Strats (particularly bad) although of course their higher priced guitars do not have this problem. There does not seem to be a problem with the tuning of similar priced classical or steel string acoustic guitars. What is causing the strings to go out of tune, why is this confined to electric guitars and are there any lower priced models that do not have this problem?
Buddy, if you're a guitar teacher you should know that guitars like that have cheap tuners in them. They're low grade stock tuners. Squiers are $100. Good tuners are about $50.

Any Epiphone under the Les Paul Standard will have cheap tuners on it as well. Even some Standards have cheap tuners on them, although some have Grovers.

With the Acoustics, I don't know why they'd be different. It could be that with the higher guage strings there isn't as much bending or stretching of the strings.

For lower price guitars without tuning problems, Agiles and Washburn WI64's. Agiles vary in price and can be found on www.rondomusic.net. The Wasburns range from $300 for the distressed version to $420 for the deluxe version. Both have Grover 18:1 tuners. The Washburn also has the Buzz Feiten Tuning System so that it stays perfectly in tune and perfectly intonated.
My Gear:

Washburn WI14 Electric
Washburn D10s Acoustic
Marshall MG100HDFXR Special Edition
Marshall MG412AR Special Edition

Quote by Danno13
^Xenn is my favorite MG owner EVAR.

Quote by jj1565
^ Xenn fav MG user evar
Crappy Tuners, how could you be a teacher and not know that?
Quote by Pinky&The Brain

Brain
Are you pondering what I'm pondering pinky?

Pinky
I think so, Brain, but where would we buy rubber pants at this hour?