Page 1 of 2
I think as a beginner, I probably won't really be able to tell a big difference in tone between a starter guitar and a nice guitar, but I'm curious as to whether a nicer guitar is a lot easier/more enjoyable to play? And if so, is that something that a beginner will easily notice and benefit from?

I currently own a cheapie Epiphone SG Special... I've been tempted to upgrade to a better guitar, but I'm wondering if it'll make any noticable improvement to my playing at all. Or would a beginner not really be able to appreciate the difference between starter guitars versus good guitars?
the difference is better quality (it will last longer, and better wood)
and has alot nicer sound, and can hold its tune better, and sustain better too

i think you should jut stick with the epiohone, how long have you been playing, and was the epihone your first guitar, and how long have you had it
It really depends, you will notice a difference in the playability of better quality guitars. It depends on where you want 2 go with your guitar,
Eg, Whether you are only giong to pick it up everynown again and play it, or your going to practice 3+hours a day. Great players can play well on not great instruments.......
Well between you guitar and a mid-high range guitar you may not notice the difference.

Cheap, no-name brand guitars however, are commonly shoddily built, with fret buzz, high action, the works.

So upgrading won't really help your playing, but it will probably help your tone, it just depends on whether you can appreciate it or not.
I bet I have the same guitar as you...Epiphone SG Zebra?

Anyway, from my experience, have a better guitar doesn't make you better. What really matters is what you're playing. You can have the nicest, most expensive guitar in the world, but it won't matter if you can't play anything.
As for the more enjoyable part, well, I have tons of fun on my $50 strat knockoff, so I wouldn't worry about that.