Anyone have experience with both of these? or know songs where one song uses one and another uses the other or something?

I want the basic Steve Vai tone.. but nothing drastic..
don have any experience, but by all accounts there really amazing. If your looking for vais tone then they would be a great start, however, as everyone else says, if you aint got the chops then there not for you. They really highlight every ****up you make. Maybe the evo2 would be better as it cleans up a bit more when you roll the volume down. It all depends on how good you are. Also you wont get exactly steves tone just with the pickups. Hope this helps a bit.
well since I'm a beginner and don't really know how to play much at all... I was thinking that if they show all the mistakes it would help me get better instead of relying on muddied/blurred tone.
Well that makes sense to me. have you looked at any other models? do you just want the steve vai tone? Try the pickup selector, it helped me a lot. I ended up getting the tone zone, but cant tell you how it sounds as i havnt got it back from the shop. By all accounts the PAFS are also good. Youj ust might not want to limit your optiojns. Ultimatley it comes down to how you feel, your buying it. Besides im not an expert on this, just trying to help as much as i can. I know what it's like trying to choose new pups. Theres so many to choose from. try a search and see what other people think and reccomend.
ya I'm looking for the Steve Vai tone
so the question is what does one get, the Evolution or Evo 2 for the bridge?

is the Evolution too trebly?