I've been playing for 7 years, and I think im starting to lose what it means to be a guitarist.

I play rythm for a band, and I'm good at it, but I still don't know what it MEANS to be a rythm guitarist. To me, it just feels like playing chord patterns and strumming patterns, palm muting, etc etc. It feels as if theres no real techniques for me to learn, but I know thats not true. I can play stuff like Master of puppets by Metallica, but I cant even do a 5nps solo, and it makes me feel kinda iffy about things, and I want to learn, but I keep trying to find a quick way out. I've learnt the box, and im getting better at it, but it feels as if theres no emotion to my rythm or attempted soloing either, and my skills are starting to get worse and worse.

Can anyone give me any good advice? Help me improve and start getting better?
Last edited by Duranix at Jun 9, 2006,
hah

I know we dont solo, but i would like to try, except whenever i do, its emotionless...

if its even coherent and not a pile of mess. And my rythm is starting to degrade too.
I play rythm in a band.

When i try to solo, i stay to a scale, but it does sound like i hit random notes.
Learn to play things that are slightly above your level. That's the only way you'll ever get better.

As for the soloing, take note of what chords are being played. Try and keep the notes you're playing within the chord being played, and it shouldn't ever sound bad.
Quote by yellowfrizbee
What does a girl have to do to get it in the butt thats all I ever wanted from you. Why, Ace? Why? I clean my asshole every night hoping and wishing and it never happens.
Bitches be Crazy.

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Quote by Duranix
hah

I know we dont solo, but i would like to try, except whenever i do, its emotionless...

if its even coherent and not a pile of mess. And my rythm is starting to degrade too.