I've been playing the guitar for almost three years now and I'm learning to play bass, what advice do you guys have to make the transition easier?
1) read threads in this forum for a better understanding

2) realize the difference in roles between bass and guitar

3) figure out what playing style(s) you will be utilizing (pic/fingers etc.)

4) listen to bass oriented music. (or atleast where the bass has a bigGER role)
it might be tempting to use a pic, but dont, use your fingers..... you can go faster and it will sound better
Quote by bassguru
it might be tempting to use a pic, but dont, use your fingers..... you can go faster and it will sound better

Not exactly, I'm faster with a pick, varies person to person.

Anywho, there are A LOT of guitar to bass threads around, and most of them have lots of good info, just search around a little.
Ok, first of all, I've been listening to bass oriented music for a long time, I always try to keep an open mind when it comes to music. Second, for me playing with a pick is WAY faster, any advice as far as learning to use my fingers goes? I really like popping (i think that's what it's called when you pluck really hard with your fingers) and it's easy to do, but I just can't seem to get slapping down, any advice?
The only bit of advice I have for playing bass (I was a bassist and then learned guitar) is to learn how to play with your fingers EVEN if you are faster with a pick. This is because playing with your fingers has a different sound from playing with a pick, and sometimes, you want that sounds.

I own a fretless, so I never learned to slap or pop in fear of a damaged bridge.

Also note that the bass is a fair bit heavier than most guitars and therefore proper hand position is even more important. There's not too much more advice that I can give other than making sure you use your pinky just as much (but because you play guitar you should know this).