and not sound like a total newb, and be able to play some songs decently?
How about being able to synthesize your own songs/music?

I'm finding it easier and easier to play riffs and sorta dial in finger memory pretty quickly. I'm not too into chords but that's definately what I have to work on.. then it'll be easy..
firstly define proficient, everyones has their own meaning.
2ndly, synthesize isnt the word your looking for... compose??

lastly, ive been playing for 6months
Guitars... *drools uncontrollably*
I did in the first post
"and not sound like a total newb, and be able to play some songs decently?
How about being able to synthesize your own songs/music?"

I'm not talking about being a great guitar player but ya know.. proficient

actually synthesize is what I mean.. I mean.. yeah heh
kinda the same
Quote by Weybl Himself
Short answer: "No".
Long Answer "Really, no"

So I'm going to still sound like a complete newb? unable to go through an entire song?
If you practice enough and learn the songs properly etc, probably, yea, it's what practicing's about really.

But why?....
"Breathe, breathe in the air
Don't be afraid to care"

Fender Strat/Tokai LS80>few pedals>Orange Rocker 30
Well i can play alot of metallica stuff already including MOP solo. My first solo was disposable heroes solo which took me ages in those 6 months but now i can play it with ease where in those 6 months it took ages till the solo ended but now its just a breeze and my muscles in my fingers is to use to that 8 nps i think?? oh wells i can pass that now.....
[img]http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/9672/stevevaisigver24vf.jpg[/img]
Just an influence.
I doubt six months, although it depends how fast you learn. (why 6 months anyway?)
Also, you dont want to learn too many songs by one band because it really wil compromise your own style of playing. just work through it yourself, hell, I've been playing three years and I've only just got my own style.