I play punk, but I'd love to learn how to play metal, due to the lack of talent in punk. Can anyone help me? Oh, and please don't give me links to lessons on this site (unless they don't require ANY knowledge of theory), because I have no knowledge of theory, and have already checked all of these lessons out. I'd really like to learn how to solo eventually, but know nothing about the "pentatonic boxes" or the "Circle of fifths" or ANY music theory...thanks for your help in advance.
I've tried to learn, but it's really confusing. I would love to learn, honestly I would. I've tried looking in the "lessons" section to learn, but it is really hard. All I know about music theory, is how to find A, B, C, D, E, F, G, and all their sharps and flats. (i.e. E 1(F)--2(F#,Ab)--3(A) etc etc). Is there any hope for me
Yeah dude, you need to know at least some basic theory to be able to solo well, not to mention knowing a couple of scales. It's better in the long run to just sit down and learn basic theory, you can learn a ton in just a few hours of reading. Trust me, you gotta learn at least a little.

Try just listening to a bunch of metal and seeing if it's for you first. You might be like me, like the guitars and stuff in Metal music, but not like metal music that much.

Edit, ARGH! beat me. Anyway, if it's that confusing for you, try getting someone to teach you. Take band lessons, w/e. I learned when I was just a kid in band, so that worked for me.
I think it'd be kinda hard to learn anything from lessons on line without knowing some theory. I remember when I had first started playing guitar and I looked through a lot of the lessons around here it was all nonsense to me because I had no idea what they were talking about. I think it'd probably be worth the time to learn theory a little better first, you don't have to master it though. I don't know really know what to tell you in relation to your question but to listen to metal and learn a lot of metal songs and riffs.