Hey guys, my first post on here so hello to you all

Bascially I am a beginner guitar player, looking to play mostly metal, the majority of what I will play will be Iron Maiden. The band use stratocasters, so therefore to best match their sound, I thought it best to purchase a strat as well as for the fact that it is an overall very versatile guitar. Here is the dilemma though, I can't decide between a Mexican Fat Strat, and an Amercian standard SSS strat. Now my concerns are that the Amercan one, although I can afford it, may be abit too extreme for a beginner. The mexican fat strat, although it receives plenty of good reviews, some people say it has crap sustain, which will be no good for me when I come to start soloing. On the other hand it does have a humbucker which Iron Maiden's guitarists have generating a nice think crunchy tone. The quality of the pickups though on standard strats I've heard is questionable, and I rather not be bothered in changing them. So really, I'm having a struggle coming to a decision, so any comments that would help assist me in reaching a decision will be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
How old are these reviews that say it has crap sustain? They just gave it a larger block in the 2006 models for increased sustain.

I say go for the MIA Strat though. What do you mean by too extreme for a beginner? like just too high end in price etc or differences in the guitar? cuz it's basically the same exact thing
Quote by amazingdm
How old are these reviews that say it has crap sustain? They just gave it a larger block in the 2006 models for increased sustain.

I say go for the MIA Strat though. What do you mean by too extreme for a beginner? like just too high end in price etc or differences in the guitar? cuz it's basically the same exact thing

yeh, basically what I meant by "too extreme" was too expensive for a first guitar. Not sure how old those reviews are.. I guess I'll check.