i've been playing guitar for 5 months, and looking to improve my sound. I really like metal (slayer, pantera, assorted thrash and death) and enjoy that sort of tone. Currently, I have an ESP M-100 guitar and a cheap marshal mg10 amp. A friend told me that i should buy a line6 pod and then i can get all sorts of tones, his reasoning being that "the amp is just the speaker. don't worry about it." But i am having doubts about this advice... Would i be better served to buy a better quality 30-50 watt amp, then slowly build up the collection of pedals?

What pedals will i need? obviously a distortion pedal. an overdrive? a phlanger? phaser? any suggestions on what pedals to aquire for metal style?

can i buy used pedals over ebay, or do you all advise against that?

thanks.
Definitely get a new amp. The amp isn't just a speaker when you use a POD through it. It still goes through the preamp and the poweramp. And unfortunately sending a signal through an MG sterilizes the tone.

I don't think you should buy pedals until you get an amp that you know that you are going to have for a long time.

What's your price range?
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
New amp all the way. You gotta have something capable of a good basic tone before you start adding effects. NOTHING, not even my brand-spanking-new ZOOM G7 sounds good through my SS 10watt practice amp. How about a Roland Cube? They're well-priced, sound good and have plenty of decent effects built in to get you by until you can afford come pedals.
Love is not a victory march.
Last edited by shakysam at Jun 13, 2006,