Page 1 of 2
I've been playing for about 2 years now and I've hit a wall in how fast i can pick (8 nps ) and i think it is because of how i hold my pick.

i hold i tbetween the TIPS of my thumb and my finger and i want to know if this is correct. or if there is a more correct way to do it.

i also want to know if its okay to have my arm resting on the guitar body slightly. and no i do not anchor my pinky

thx in advance
i cant really help, but to cheer you up, i can only pick 6.6 nps lol. (ive been playing 2 years now as well.)
“Science cannot solve the ultimate mystery of nature. And that is because, in the last analysis, we ourselves are part of nature and therefore part of the mystery that we are trying to solve.”

-Max Planck

☮∞☯♥
How can you find out how many notes per second you can play?
That might be a totally n00bish question but oh well.
Quote by hammetttoheafy
How can you find out how many notes per second you can play?
That might be a totally n00bish question but oh well.

if you have a metronome, it goes by beats per minute (bpm) and all you have to do is see how many beats per minute you can get by the metronome and divide that by 60.
“Science cannot solve the ultimate mystery of nature. And that is because, in the last analysis, we ourselves are part of nature and therefore part of the mystery that we are trying to solve.”

-Max Planck

☮∞☯♥
well you take ur bpm (beats per minute) and u take what kind of notes u are playing (quarter notes eighth notes etc.)

so u divide ur bpm by 60
then multiply by how many notes per beat u were doing

so if u were doing 240 bpm eighth notes, thats 8 nps
^ u sure about ur math there?...if ur doin 8 notes per beat at 240 bpms thats like 32 nps!!...i think u mite've made a lil mistake there

EDIT: unless you mean ur counting 4 beats per bar and 8 notes per bar...then it works
I've Got a Green Tinted Sixties Mind

?Mike
^ 8th notes are generally two notes per beat... not 1/8th of a beat...
Quote by les_kris