Before i took my guitar in, i called and asked how much it'd cost to get a bridge/nut replaced. the dood told me $12 in labor and whatever parts costs. But when i went in, i told them i wanted it set up and to replace the bridge/nut if needed with bone. I just got a phone call saying that it costs $100 in labor and $9 in parts. does this sound right to anyone? What exactly is a set up? i thought a set up was just adjusting the action, which is what they should do anyways if they are replacing the bridge/nut. Any advise would be great since i'm a poor college student

btw it's a takamine a/e
I'd say they kinda ripped you off there man. Setup can also include fixing the intanation (although its an acoustic, so that isn't adjustable), so they spent about 2 or 3 hours adjusting your truss rod and putting a new bridge in. That I doubt, unless they had to like unglue the entire saddle and replace that, but then the parts wouldn't be $9. Some places charge like $50/hour (canadian) for a tech to work on stuff. I have several friends that do this sort of thing for me.

Advice: I'm not really sure, go in and ask exactly what they did, how much they charge an hour, and get them to explain why it took so long for a seemingly simple job. Good luck, give us some follow up if you can
To see a World in a Grain of Sand
And a Heaven in a Wild Flower
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour
thanx for the reply. i really appreciate it. Last time i brought my other cheaper guitar in to get the bridge replaced with bone and it cost somewhere between $25-$33, i can't remember exactly, but that was at a different place. so i'm pretty shocked that a "set-up" and possibly a nut replacement would quadruple the price at this other place....i'll def ask them what they all did to it. if i would have known that it costs 100 to bring it to top notch, i would have just spent 300 instead of 200 on a tak a/e.

btw. this is USD..what's the exchange rate with canadian?