I'm currently studying music theory (reading a book on theory especially for guitarists), and I have a two-part question.

First, an interval is the distance between two notes. I know that, so i'm assuming between any two notes anywhere on the fretboard. My question is, how should I try and learn and memorize the interval shapes? Distance between 1st and second fret is a minor 2nd, but how I should I learn and practice them? Any help would be great, thank you.

P.S. -- I hope I explained that right...
Quote by Wannabehippie
Thats as far as my knowledge of Clapton goes.

Quote by Still Life
I hear he also played guitar
Thank you Silent, but I was kinda asking how should I learn interval shapes? lol.
Quote by Wannabehippie

Quote by Still Life
Thank you coffeeguy9, i'm merely beginning my theory studies. I don't really know much yet, am I gonna have to learn more before I read your article or not?

And thank you SilentDeftone as well.
Quote by Wannabehippie

Quote by Still Life
its almost impossible to learn interval shapes, but you can learn the intervals between notes, which can then transfer to the fretboard. For instance: if you moved from a "B" to a "C", you would have one half step, as compared to the distance between "C" and "D", which has two half steps. Applying interval theory to the fretboard is commonly referred to as learning scales and modes.
well, with interval shapes, you're just memorizing patterns on guitar. I suggest listening carefully to intervals and remembering what they sound like so that you can identify them on other instruments. Also, the shape of intervals can change on the guitar. for example... if you play a perfect fifth with e....

---
---
---
---
-2-
-0-

but if you play it on g...

---
-3-
-0-
---
---
---

if you play the same shape on g, then it will turn into a diminished 5th, and probably wont be to your desire. Hope I helped.

oh, this is also a perfect 5th (A-->E inverted..... right?)

---
---
---
---
-0-
-0-

and this:

---
---