I have several years experience playing multi-stringed basses. My main
attraction was being able to play a lot of notes with less effort, I was playing
in a trio when my obsession began. I play many other instruments, so playing
bass and rhythm parts became a part of my style, filling in the big bottom and
laying in guitaresque chording to fill in the spaces. I didn't see any threads
for this aspect of bass so, is anyone really interested?
yeah i've recently been looking around jean baudins website and jerom wolf and various others, they're really intresting... If I was going to be doing that I would have a twin neck:
5 string (bass) and 7 string (guitar)
or
4 string (bass) and 6 string (guitar)

I know it would weigh far too much but I think It woould be a fantastic idea.
Quote by jcwear

4 string (bass) and 6 string (guitar)

you can get a strat and p bass body from warmoth

http://www.warmoth.com/bass/bodies/d46.cfm
Cort lover of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join.
On cheating in a relationship...

Quote by metaldud536
If he doesn't use a gameshark, it's not cheating.

I'm a non-regular regular old user.
I'm pretty much the six+ stringed/weird-as-hell/retarded tuning bass advocate around here. I've been playing a six string for awhile (almost two years), and I'm planning on getting a 7 or 8 string sometime in the future. Probably right after I acquire my tenor five string. The ability to drop those chords in, and simultaneously lay down the bottom and make a melody are invaluable aspects to bass playing (at least in my case). I sold my first four string for a six after I had played for about 4 or 5 months, and I'll never go back to anything less than a five string.
i own a galveston 8 string bass that i love. it is amazing to have that kind of range in sound. the low F# doesnt get used much but it is fun to kick in some distortion for the higher strings
....../ `---____________|] ~~~bang!
...../_==o;;;;;;;;_____.:/
.....), ---.(_(__) /
....// (..) ), ----"