Hiya, uhh, i'm pretty new to guitar playing in general, just have a black strat copy (with tons of character!), been playing about 10 months now. Taught myself some theory (chords etc.), major/minor scales, pentatonic scales, but still don't know how to do artificial harmonics/sweep picking etc (I don't wanna learn those wrong so i haven't really tried). Right now I can't really play that many songs, just pieces here and there(random solos from 80s cartoons, just whatever appeals ot me at any time, intro to stairway, although i can play through the whole song minus the solo, i can't really get it all to sound right nor play at the original speed, gotta sit down and finish it sometime). The only full 'song' I know how to play though is Starseed by our lady peace. So anyway, i've always been checking the tabs here and went to some other forums (ibreathemusic), but everyone there seemed to be way beyond my league so i thought this place would be better suited for my needs (and from lurking around for a bit it seems so )

anyway, I've started learning Canon in D (jerryC rock version), and I was thinking with my skill level is it just way too much for me? or can I use it as a learning experience? I actually took up stairway like the first week i got my guitar, lol, made a lot of mistakes but I think it helped me so much within the first month or so. I was thinking since I've grown to this song so much and it has stuff that i don't know yet (sweep picking etc. ) that maybe it'll help me learn? or should I learn that stuff properly before truly attempting the song? right now i'm working on the first parts of the song, and i haven't gotten to the complicated stuff yet. Any opinions/tips etc?