Does anyone have any tips for how I can learn songs by ear? Any songs with easy chords, easy solo that you recommend me to start with?
If you're trying to tab a song with chords, mess around the fret-board looking for the root note of the chord (for a Cmaj chord, this would be C). Match the pitch, and find the name of the note. Then, play the chord to see if it sounds right. Try different variations of the chord, such as minor, diminished, and seventh forms.

If you're trying to learn a song with notes and riffs, again, just fool around the fret board until you can match the pitch. Change the position of the song if it's inconvenient after you've figured out the notes.

I'm not too good at recommending things, but you can try pretty much any Ramones or Blink 182 song if you want some easy power-chords to learn. Just because I have the song stuck in my head, you could try "Goodnight Goodnight" by Hot Hot Heat- it's got some easy chords and a pretty simple solo.

Best wishes and Bon Voyage!
>>---Mai Pen Rai--->
yea i agree. Blink would be really good to start out with. they are a great band, and primarily use easy power chords which are fairly easy to tab. Also the riffs are usually not that complicated to play
May I suggest some White Stripes? All his songs are in either A, C, or G. I think it was De Stil that my gf put on and I just played along to nearly the entire record. Not saying I was always right on my first listen but it's pretty easy stuff cuz it's all the same.
Learn some common chord progressions and then once you have found the key, you are there mate. as for solo's.. understanding scales will help. Once you've found the first note of the solo's you can often work it out roughly. depending on the song obviously!!
Quote by silentdud
if you can figure out the key you can figure the entire song out. you might run into trouble when you start trying to learn megadeath though because Marty Friedman doesn't "believe" in theory.