so, yes, i'm new at this. however, been reading up a lot so...that should help a bit. so mainly, i just want to repaint and give some new knobs and pickguard...here's a conceptual type thing i did in photoshop:

tell me what you think...
Last edited by Nooeygirl at Jun 21, 2006,
I like the tiger print theme your going with. But I dont really understand your thread. Are you asking for advice on painting or if we like your paint design?
oops, sorry...no, it's my customizing thread...i'll be putting up some pics soon, progress and such...
Oh OK. Cool. I am customizing a Strat right now too. Not many people are checking out my thread tho. I hope yours does well. I'll be watching it.
Why thank you. I really like yours tho. Wish I woulda thought of that paint design before I went with the General Lee... LOL
ok, so i just ordered my new knobs and pickguard, all will be black rather than that bronze color in the picture. also, i'm pretty sure i'm going to paint the headstock the same tiger pattern as the body. not 100%, but most likely...
at the moment, i'm not sure whether to just paint the frontside of the body, or do it all around...?
ok, so here are some pics...not much going on yet...

so, the neck, disassembled...

the headstock...

the headstock again...

the body...

and these are my color options, two different oranges...the line indicates the differences...i'm not sure which to go with...suggestions?

that's all for now...
Quote by ClaptonRules
I like the darker orange, personally.

+1
[member of UG's Slide Player Legion
PM Shedmeiser101 to join if your feelin dem blues
so i'm ready to start sanding, but i'm not sure which way is better, sanding to the wood or scuffing?
Scuff it, and it should come out nice and smooth. Sanding it to the wood takes FOREVER. Its pointless too when you can just scuff and prime, unless you were going to stain the wood.