So the jack on my guitar has been loose so I took the backing plate off to take a look and as soon as I touched the part that holds the cable in it broke off.

So would i just buy a replacement jack that's the same as the one above? (I have an Epi SG). I'm not too experienced with this so can you guys give me some steps on how to fix it? I don't need new humbuckers do I? thanks
"All Randy ever wanted to do was play the guitar."

Quote by Xenn99
Or...were you playing Fallout Boy? Because then it's obvious what happened. Your Low E String committed suicide.

"I don't fucking eat donuts"
Lol... no you don't need new humbuckers, or even new pickups which is what you really meant. I don't know how the f*ck it snapped that easily, but yes, you will need a new one now. They're easy to fit yourself (couple of solder joints will do), but if you're not experienced get a pro to do it for you. Also, in future make sure the nut on the input jack is tight as this will prevent the wires inside breaking away.

EDIT: And all input jacks for guitars are like that, so that won't be a problem.
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
the wires that are in there are like welded to those circles on the sides, so how do i deal with that? thanks for the help

Quote by Xenn99
Or...were you playing Fallout Boy? Because then it's obvious what happened. Your Low E String committed suicide.

They're soldered not welded. There's a difference that I'm too lazy to exlpain. Just clip the wires off using wire clippers, obviously. Cut as close to the joints as you can get, 'coz you'll need some leftover wire for a tech to attach the new jack. Nice and easy.