View poll results: Which slide?
Glass
18 75%
Steel
4 17%
Brass
2 8%
Voters: 24.
I'm interested in experimenting with slide guitar.

I'm completely new to it and was wondering if anyone could explain the - I assume, minor - differences between the 3 types of slides (well, the 3 for sale on GAK )

Glass, Steel or Brass
- Gibson Les Paul Studio
- Squier Standard Strat
- Roland Cube 60
- Visual Sound Jekyll & Hyde
- Boss OD-3
- Behringer EQ700
Last edited by SamDking at Jun 18, 2006,
Well, I don't have a clue/care about brass, but I've got a glass slide, and a chrome slide (steel)

The chrome slide works well on my Strat, bbut the glass one doesn't.
And the glass one works better on my acoustic.
"Breathe, breathe in the air
Don't be afraid to care"

Fender Strat/Tokai LS80>few pedals>Orange Rocker 30
glass = warmer tone
metal = brighter tone (can easily get too bright)

whatever you get make sure its big enough to fit on your finger and thats its rather massive and heavey for a stronger sound
I'm going to vote glass, but I only bought my first slide yesterday. Although that was after a bit of testing in the shop.
I have a glass slide, and a Strat, and it sounds aweful. Okay, so that's probably just me not knowing how to play slide guitar, but still, i know more than enough to know that the tone is pathetic. i would go with a steel slide.

Chuck Norris sleeps with a pillow under his gun.
I have the same question. For electric stuff, I guess a metal slide would do right? But then again Duane used a glass slide on his LP right?. I'm confused
Huzzah! It is I, S0ulja, the Duke Of Swiss, 3rd member of the Royal order of cheese!

PM Soulfly_freak or sock_demon to join
I have a glass and a brass slide. The glass one sounds like crap on my LP, while the brass one is great. More sustain, grittier tone, and brighter but not too bright at all. Steel would be brighter than brass.