I would love to get a new guitar but I'm wondering if it's really time.
I've been playing for over a year but everything has been self-taught so my skill probably isn't on par if I had taken official lessons.
I have an old 2nd hand Squier Strat that's chipped in several places.
I normally play rock.

If it is time to get a new one? Which kind would you recommend? I highly value the opinions of the people here and I feel like a noob when it comes to guitars compared to you guys. I'll probably end up actually buying the guitar you say.
Budget probably around 300$

Thanks so much for any input.

Edit: Oh and should I get a new amp too? I have a 10 watt piece of junk
Last edited by SnoopyKojiApple at Jun 18, 2006,
If you're not in a band that's likely to gig anytime soon, you're guitar's not broken and it's not holding you back in any way by being a cheap guitar, then don't bother unless you're very rich indeed.
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
oh id spend the money on a new amp before a new guitar- a les paul would sound like trash through a bad amp
*Blah blah blah my soul to take*
i have the same case. my acoustic guitar is broken on the back but still function. i ahve the money but i going to buy a great guitar.i've been playing just exact 10 month . and if you are going to buy a electric guitar of course! you need to have an amp.
Oh, and even though I'm not too good at exchange rates, I reckon $300 is very slightly more than £150, which won't get you very much better than a Squier over in Britain. I know many guitars are cheaper in your country, but you still might wanna check that out.
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.